Please provide your email address.Please provide a valid email address.

Please provide your password.

Forgot Password? Click Here.

First Time User? Click here to Signup
Resource Center
Is India Trying to Subdue Kashmir Through Religious Tourism? 
July 17, 2018
The Indian state under the increasing influence of Hindu nationalism is using Hindu pilgrimage sites..
“Aswachh Bharat” marks Amarnath yatra 
July 15, 2018

Tourism and Plastic: Exploring the Contours 

June 04, 2018
The threat that plastic poses to the health of the planet has been raising alarm bells for some time..
As Women, Are We Really Economically Empowered A view from the point of view of Tourism 
April 10, 2018

Do we enjoy the same quality of life as our male counterparts? How can we, when the figures of women..

Meet the Majid Squad, a Group that Voluntarily Cleans Filth on Amarnath Yatra Routes 
January 29, 2018
Notwithstanding the National Green Tribunal directions, Governor N N Vohra recently decided that a 60-day-long..
Railways to start special tourist trains, new services
February 24, 2010

Railways to start special tourist trains, new services


24 February 2010

Press Trust Of India, New Delhi:

In a bid to promote tourism, Railway Minister Mamata Banerjee on Wednesday announced that Indian Railways will be launching 16 special 'Bharat Tirth' trains connecting popular tourist sites and pilgrimage centres in different parts of the country.

Reaching out to the common man, Banerjee also announced the introduction of 10 new Duranto Express trains and several new trains.

"The running of Bharat Tirth is to emphasise our unity in diversity and bring to reality Kabiguru's (Rabindranath Tagore) words in our national anthem Punjab Sindhu Gujarat Maratha, Dravida Utkala Banga, Vindhya Himachal Yamuna Ganga," Railway Minister Mamata Banerjee said.

Presenting the 2010-11 budget in Lok Sabha, she said the trains are proposed to run on the following routes:
Howrah-Gaya-Agra-Mathura-Vrindavan-New Delhi-Haridwar-Varanasi-Howrah

Howrah-Chennai-Puducherry-Madurai-Rameswaram- Kanyakumari-Bangalore-Mysore-Chennai-Howrah


Howrah-Varanasi-Jammu Tawi-Amritsar-Haridwar- Mathura-Vrindavan-Allahabad-Howrah


Mumbai-Pune-Tirupati-Kancheepuram-Rameswaram- Madurai-Kanyakumari-Pune-Mumbai

Pune-Jaipur-Nathdwara-Ranakpur-Jaipur-Mathura- Agra-Haridwar-Amritsar-Jammu Tawi-Pune


Ahmedabad-Puri-Kolkata-Gangasagar-Varanasi- Allahabad-Indore-Omkareshwar-Ujjain-Ahmedabad

Bhopal-Dwaraka-Somnath-Udaipur-Ajmer-Jodhpur- Jaipur-Mathura-Vrindavan-Amritsar-Jammu Tawi-Bhopal

Bhopal-Tirupati-Kancheepuram-Rameswaram-Madurai- Kanyakumari-Thiruvananthapuram-Kochi-Bhopal

Madurai-Chennai-Kopargaon-Mantrayalam-Chennai- Madurai

Madurai-Erode-Pune-Ujjain-Veraval-Nashik-Hyderabad- Chennai-Madurai

Madurai-Chennai-Jaipur-Delhi-Mathura-Vrindavan- Allahabad-Varanasi-Gaya-Chennai-Madurai

Madurai-Varanasi-Gaya-Patna Sahib-Allahabad- Haridwar-Chandigarh-Kurukshtra-Amritsar-Delhi-Madurai

Madurai-Mysore-Goa-Mumbai-Aurangabad-Hyderabad- Madurai

Some new Duranto trains:





Unreserved Karmabhoomi Exp trains

Dharbhanga –Mumbai


New Jailpaguri-Amritsar

New Janmabhoomi Exp between Ahmedabad and Udhampur

New trains introduced:

Sulatanpur-Mumbai Exp

Sulatanpur-Ajmer Exp

Asansol-Digha Exp

Howrah-Puducherry Exp

Kolkata-Ajmer Exp

Kolkata-Anandpur Sahib Exp

Pune-Haridwar Exp

Rajgir-Howrah Exp

Nagercoil-Bangalore Exp

Bhubnaeswar-Bangalore Exp

Pune-Ernakulam Exp

Coimbatore-Tirupati Exp

Kolhapur-Solapur Exp

Madurai-Tirupati Exp

Sambalpur-Howrah Exp

Ahmedabad-Agra Exp

Gandhidham-Ahemdabad Exp

Gwalior-Porbandar Exp

Tata Nagar-Hatia Exp

Miraj-Pandharpur Exp